Red Barn Plants – Upcoming Speaker

Our speaker at the February general meeting will be Elke Knechtel from Red Barn Plants. I can remember, many years ago when I was first learning to garden, visiting their nursery in Maple Ridge and being overwhelmed by the variety of plants that she and her husband had available. At that time she wrote a most informative catalogue of their plant offerings and I found the plant descriptions and cultural requirements to be very comprehensive and understandable to a neophyte gardener (as well as being very well written). I think that she saved me a lot of time and effort in lessening the learning curve and I always looked forward to receiving her catalogue as both a literary and gardening event.

They are now a wholesale operation and I have continued to have confidence in their plant offerings when I’ve come across them in local nurseries. I have also heard that their Maple Ridge location may be open for visits on select days in the upcoming season – I’ll keep you posted on that possibility.

If you are not a member of the PoCo Garden Club you are still welcome to attend one of our meetings – Elke’s presentation would be an excellent excuse to pay us a visit as it is bound to be informative and entertaining. We meet on Feb 15th at Trinity United Church, 2211 Prairie Avenue, in Port Coquitlam (7:30 PM). I hope to see you there.

Elke’s topic for the presentation will be Versatile Vegetables.

About pocogardenclub

PoCo Garden Club Established July 5, 1990 by Len Cuddeford P.O. Box 631, PoCo Depot, Port Coquitlam, B.C. V3E 6H9 pocogardenclub@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Upcoming Speakers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

